Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Screen Resolution / Windowed Out Mode

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Aug 25, 2016
Yesterday, before the big update, all of the computers I have Wizard101 playing on, worked just peachy fine. Today, I logged in, from all of them, and my windowed mode is not working correctly.

I have four systems I have Wizard101 loaded on. Two of my systems use double monitors which have the "extend these displays" active on; these have worked totally correctly since I started playing a few months back. The other two systems I use in regular non-windowed mode and are currently working fine.

I have notified tech support and the first response I got was a standard "you can change your resolution by going to the options menu" and such. The second was, "we have tested this extensively on our end, and the resolution settings are working exactly as they were before. You will need to continue to adjust your in-game resolution, and possibly your monitor's resolution to find something that works for you. If all else fails, we suggest not playing in windowed mode."

When I first turned the game on this morning, my resolution was a windowed mode of 800x600. I have never, ever, had any of my monitors adjusted to this setting. This tells me that something was reset within the game itself.

Considering the only thing that has changed between yesterday's game play and today's trying to play, was Wizard101's huge update, and given that I've dealt with bugs and tech support for gaming for years as well as the above, I'm pretty sure this is a coding error somewhere on their side. However, I'm in the minority it seems.