Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

[Yet Again] Increase the damage cap.

AuthorMessage
Delver
Jun 14, 2016
This has been brought up time and time again, but I think it's time to increase the damage cap. What distinguishes this post from others suggesting the same thing, however, is that I'll cover some reasons why KI might not have wanted to do this.

Disclaimer: While I am a programmer, I don't work for KI, so I don't know the exact implementation details of the game, so what lies below might be at best coincidentally right and at worst complete speculation.

1. Representation Problems
Many computer programs use a fixed amount of memory to store integers, and this means that they can only represent those in a certain range. For example, 32 bits allow you to store roughly 4.2 billion different integers (about 0 to 4.2B if not signed, and -2.1B to 2.1B if signed). If calculations result in an integer not in that range, they result in one that is "wrapped around" (so 4.5 billion would wrap around to about 300 million), and this is called overflow or underflow. This is the reason it was possible to deal negative damage before the damage cap was implemented.
The problem is that the current limit of 1 million makes no sense in terms of representation. Even if you did damage modifiers naively (e. g. for +35% multiplying the amount of damage by 135, then dividing it by 100), it would be safe to allow as much as 10 million damage without overflowing an unsigned 32-bit integer. With more careful programming, it would be possible to cap damage to, say, 1 billion.