Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

PvP in its current state- No reason for returning

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Jul 09, 2009
After doing pvp for quite a while this morning, I can now remember why I quit this game for 2 years after playing it non-stop.
The pvp aspect of the game is immensely one-sided. When I started playing, PVP is all I did. I had lots of fun with it, and I found myself winning lots of matches against all odds and overall enjoying my experience. However, when I decided to return to w101, I tried pvping as I usually would on my level 30 death wizard and found myself constantly being pitted against warlords who had typical crown and warlord level gear. I find it upsetting if not truly depressing that skill can be interchanged with wealth in a game that has such potential. It seems that Wizard101 PvP has fallen to the "Pay to Win" category that all games try to avoid. I understand, however, that Wizard101 is a small game and the developers need money to keep it running. Although it would be great if we could find a middle ground between the "all out pay to win dump 200$ into this game and get warlord within a weekend" and "buy a wand with crowns but pvp fairly and have a relative matchmaking system." Another thing i'd like to touch on that I guarantee has been talked about in the past but never addressedor acknowledged by the developers of Wizard101: the flawed pvp matchmaking system. Even on my level 85 storm wizard, I constantly find myself being put up against level 95 warlords with (not surprisingly,) level 95 crown-bought gear. It seems that pvp becomes unplayable without crowns after level 50, as you get matched up with anyone who can be found the quickest. This is the flaw