Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Pet Stats Dropping at Hatching

AuthorMessage
Geographer
Dec 14, 2009
I'm not sure if anyone else has experienced this, but I thought I would post about it, just in case. As many of you are aware, I am a big pet trainer/hatcher in Wizard. I spend the bulk of my game time in that area, with my own pets, or helping others with theirs. For about the last year, I have noticed something peculiar when hatching. A egg from the parents will have a random stat that is lower than both! This doesn't always happen, and I would classify it as rare, but several times (5) during the current year, it has happened to me. I will illustrate today's example:
I hatched my Hunters Hound(Death), with a Lava Spider(Fire). The hound had a power of 244, and the spider's was 237. Upon the egg hatching, the new Lava Spider had a power of 197! Until about a year ago, I had never seen this before. I questioned a few friends, and some pet guild leaders, and they expressed the same sentiment of never hearing/seeing this either. Fast forward to now, and it is still happening. Is this a glitch perhaps? Has KI made adjustments to the hatching equation we are not aware of? Am I simply wrong about this, and it has always happened? Has anyone else experienced this, or perhaps knows the answer? I would be greatly interested in some feedback. Thanks.