Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Some General Questions About Pet Hatching

AuthorMessage
Champion
May 03, 2011
I am new to pet hatching--I have one Level 58 pet (Humongofrog, now epic) and two Level 48 (Orthrus and Wraith, both Ancient), and would like to start hatching to get some better talents. I successfully got a Fiery Toad when I hatched with my son's Phoenix (beginner's luck), but I'm honestly more interested in abilities than looks. So here are some (noob-ish) questions I hope someone will have time to answer. First, can you hatch hybrids together? If I want to train my Fiery Toad and hatch with another hybrid, is that possible? Or advisable? Second, can I hatch two of my own pets, even if I can't equip them both? (Orthrus and Wraith, e.g.) If I can hatch two of my own pets, do I pay for two pets (ca. 80,000 gold)? Does it matter what level these pets are--i.e., is it better to hatch two epics, rather than an epic and an adult or ancient?

Probably these are dumb questions, but I really couldn't find definitive answers anywhere--if there is a good link, I'd also appreciate that. I have one Legendary wizard and one almost-Legend, so I'm kind of looking to pets as something to work on while I wait for new content...like a lot of people, I guess. Anyway, thanks for any advice. :-)

Tabitha

Illuminator
May 22, 2009
Yes, you can hatch hybrids. Usually you get one or the other of the hybrids that you used. I have hatched hybrids with some luck in regards to talents.

You can hatch two adult pets even if you can't equip them. If you are using your own pets, you only pay for one hatch. (you are only getting one egg).