Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Pet acquired talent that neither mega parent had

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Mar 11, 2011
I've been playing wizard101 on and off for several years and in that time I have delved into pet hatching a few times but recently I really upped my search for a stronger pet. But something happened tonight, at 4:00 am in the morning, in the first week of 2018, that is not only frustrating but stranger than anything I have encountered in my long quest for my perfect pet.

The parent pets had the talents as follows:

first party (enchanted armament): second party (wandering eye) :
-guardian wall (may cast tower shield) -critical striker (+30 critical)
-balance blade (may cast balance blade) -Pain-giver (+6% damage)
-Pain-giver (+6% damage) -spell proof (+10% resist)
-spell defying (+5% resist) -Myth-giver (+6% myth damage)
-energizing battery (may cast healing current spell) -Myth-dealer (+9% myth damage)

Naturally, I expected to get a random combination of the 10 talents here - as has been the case with every hatch I have ever done previously. However, I was baffled when I trained the baby I just hatched to teen and I got a pet talent that neither parent had: fire shield (may cast fireshield). I have literally never had a pet with this talent before, I do not know if my friend who supplied the wandering eye has had a pet with this talent before. I do not know how to explain how this is possible and was hoping someone more experienced than I could.

I suppose my question is, how could a talent that neither parent had appear in a hatch?

A+ Student
Dec 24, 2009