Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Inherited Talents

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Nov 10, 2012
Hi, I'm new to hatching and have a question. When I hatch, is it possible for the hatchling to have talents that are available to the parent pet, but did not manifest, or, are the only talents that will be passed down those that manifest.

ex.: Say I hatch my Sea Dragon (sprightly is possible but did not manifest in this pet after being fully trained), with another Sea Dragon (again here, sprightly is possible but did not manifest in this pet after being fully trained). Despite the fact that sprightly did not manifest in either parent, is it possible that the sprightly talent will manifest in the offspring or in further generations from in-breeding, taken to infinity.

My hope is that despite a particular talent failing to manifest, it is possible that the particular talent will manifest somewhere down the line.

Thanks for the insights ahead of time!

Illuminator
May 22, 2009
Faestalker on Dec 10, 2012 wrote:
Hi, I'm new to hatching and have a question. When I hatch, is it possible for the hatchling to have talents that are available to the parent pet, but did not manifest, or, are the only talents that will be passed down those that manifest.

ex.: Say I hatch my Sea Dragon (sprightly is possible but did not manifest in this pet after being fully trained), with another Sea Dragon (again here, sprightly is possible but did not manifest in this pet after being fully trained). Despite the fact that sprightly did not manifest in either parent, is it possible that the sprightly talent will manifest in the offspring or in further generations from in-breeding, taken to infinity.