Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

What pets should I train/keep?

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Oct 29, 2020
I'm rather new to the game, came back after a decade hiatus, am I'm wondering what pet I should keep. I have a total of 9 pets, some from packs and some from boss drops and 1 from questing. I don't know how pets work in the game, newer did before and not now. I have looked up guide on train my pets, but all they go into is how to train your pet to Mega and what are the most efficient ways to. I'm not looking for that. I'm wanting to know which pet to keep/train and how to spot a good vs bad pet in the future, ie I want to know Pets101 and Pet Training 101. Can anyone fill me in on how pets work, the mechanics, and what the different number of a pet means. I have read FinalBastion's article "A Beginner’s Guide to Wizard101 Pets" but it doesn't answer many of my question. Is someone on this forum willing to take me through the steps of Pet101?

My pets - https://imgur.com/gallery/HzTP7mq

Pls give feedback on what pets to keep/train. I'm also stock piling all my snacks at this point in preparation for someone to walk me through Pet101

Survivor
Aug 22, 2010
Pets largely depend on both cards (the body) and talents (what stat boosts they provide). People generally decide what body they want, and they try to breed on the talents that they're looking for.

If you want to use a pet that you already have, I'd recommend choosing one that has a card you like using, so that you have an immediate bonus to your deck. Otherwise, I'd take a look at this guide to choosing a pet to start out with. Most of them can be found and bred with in the hatchmaking kiosk, which costs gold but is fairly convenient.