Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Side quests slow progression...

AuthorMessage
Defender
Jul 21, 2017
I learned recently that you can get to a much higher level, much faster by not bothering with side quests. They aren't essential to maxing out your character, except for a few that offer certain gear, training points and spells.

Talk about an open secret...I mean, I started playing in 09' and I just learned this late 2017. This begs the question- what are side quests for?

I guess the dialog is nice, you learn a bit more about the characters and lore...if you want a bit more gold and experience before facing the bigger challenges, side quests can give you a leg up.

Ultimately though, the further you are in the main story line, the more experience you get, the faster you level up. So completionists get left in the dust.

I guess what I'm saying is, are you just adding padding to the game to prevent people from beating it all in a month and then cancelling their subscription?

If so, smart, but a better tactic would be to make side quests instrumental to leveling up and progressing.

Astrologist
Aug 23, 2016
I'm not sure what you mean "higher level much faster"

I started playing again last year. I've gotten my Wizard to level 78 in and have just started quests in Caer Lyon in Avalon. I've done EVERY side quest I can find.

My nephew who lays only on weekends and started about the same time I did is still in Dragonspyre and is not yet to level 50 (side note I had reached level 55 by the time I reached Dragonspyre).