Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Why are words surrounding the LGBT banned and punishable?

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Dec 20, 2008
Dear Kingsisle,
I have been playing Wizard101 for about 11 years now. I want to address the fact that I was given a warning that I believe is unfair. I was reported twice in the last three days and then I received a warning that I could be muted. The first report I believe was fair as I used a cuss and I understand this and I will not use that in the future. However, I was reported for using the word "lesbian" when talking to a fellow member of the LGBT community by somebody not in our conversation. I think the fact that the words gay, lesbian, bi, etc. are banned and considered to be bad even within open chat is rather unnecessary. Wizard101 has a large community of LGBT+ players and I think that banning those words puts a negative connotation around them which is wrong and disrespectful to members of the LGBT+ community. So while I'm not asking to have this warning taken away, I am asking that words like gay, lesbian, bisexual, etc. are not considered to be punishable and should not be banned words, at least not in open chat. This game has been a huge part of my life and I would love to see this change be made! Thank you for being in my life for so long and I truly hope that you take what I say into consideration!

Administrator
xxLifeWingsxx on Jun 11, 2020 wrote:
Dear Kingsisle,