Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Myth Minion Rework

AuthorMessage
Survivor
May 01, 2009
So, I've been playing this game on and off since 2009. Something I've always noticed is that the balance of the schools have rarely changed, and that the bottom contender has always been one school: . This is a real letdown for me since I personally love 's aesthetic and playstyle, but the actual execution of the school makes it vastly inferior to other schools and most people have come to view making a character as doing a "challenge" mode version of the game.

I don't think 's primary damaging spells are the problem (although Minotaur and the like are annoying to use), but rather with how the minion mechanic in general works. It's kind of hard to coordinate with an NPC meant to assist you when they pick spells and targets at random. If the primary draw of a school is unreliable, then doesn't that make it unreliable as a whole? I think what would make an equal contender is if they had a unique trait with their minions: allowing the conjurer to directly control the spells the minion casts, and who on.

If you had a minion on the field, and the conjurer had just finished deciding on what spell to cast on who, it should rotate to the minion and the conjurer should be allowed to treat the minion as kind of a "second turn". However, the minion would not draw from the conjurer's deck, they would have the set of cards they normally cast. You just have control over what goes and where instead of leaving it completely up to chance.