Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Open chat

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Apr 22, 2011
Hi there, I was wondering if it was possible for me to get open chat. I've been playing this year for around 5 years and I started back in 2011 when I was around 13-14 years old. I was wondering that since I'm now 18 years old would it be possible for me to change my text chat to open chat.

Survivor
Feb 28, 2009
Yes, here are the steps. Wizard101.com > My Accounts > Parental Controls > Open Chat (On)

If you have recently made a purchase then you should be able to do this

Survivor
Sep 02, 2009
I think you have to start off as a 18 y/o. I don't know though.

Survivor
Jul 17, 2016
if u buy membership with a credit card just go into your parent account and turn on open chat (dude a kid just outsmarted u )

Survivor
Apr 22, 2011
I did that already and checked yesterday and didn't see the option. It's because when I made the account I set it as my real birthday and I was only around 13-14 years old at the time. I think I need help from an administrator, I have a one month member purchased along with some crowns so I should be more than eligible for it, yet the option isn't even showing under my account.

Geographer
Jun 06, 2008
Hi! Per the FAQ: "Members who are over the age of 18, and have a valid credit card on file with us, can enable the 18+ Open Chat. Gift Cards cannot be used to unlock Open Chat.

Open Chat allows players a more open communication environment with other 18+ players.

This chat will be filtered for profanity. In this channel, when players type their text they will see 3 colors in the chat window: white means 13+ can see it, yellow means only 18+ can see it, and red is completely filtered.