Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

malistare or morganthe?!?!

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Jan 16, 2013
That's the beauty of the game my friend. You'll never know until KI keeps releasing more and more worlds giving us more and more clues as to what Morganthe's motive is.

Explorer
Dec 19, 2010
Dr Von on Feb 1, 2013 wrote:
yes, but villains with purely selfish motives are (generally speaking) not very good villains, because there's nothing for the player (or reader, since i'm a writer) to relate to or identify with.

that's why, from a literary perspective, malistaire is the better villain.

1) sylvia's death:

most people have lost a loved one, be it a close friend or a family member, and can understand that kind of raw heartbreak and loneliness; if you were in the same position, wouldn't you do everything you could to being that person back, even if it came at a higher price? death is something very real that affects people every day, which makes him human in the players' eyes.

2) the culmination dialogue ("i failed you, sylvia...)

necromancers raise the dead. but even malistaire, the self-professed master of death, couldn't bring his wife back. so, just like the runner who places 2nd in a relay or worker passed over for a promotion in favour of someone less qualified, it would undoubtedly be a devastating blow to the ego. you feel weak, powerless, inferior... again, who hasn't been there?

-