Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Why 4/10 pet abilities?

AuthorMessage
Survivor
May 30, 2009
Now I'm pretty new to hatching pets so I could be wrong about everything written here. I did a little research and found that you can only unlock 4/10 pet abilities. What's more, which ones you unlock are completely random. Am I the only one who finds this rediculous?

I can understand the 10 abilities gained after hatching a pet to be random and have no problem with that. I have a problem with the fact that your pet can never reach its full potential. For example, I just spent a LOT of crowns on the book pet (Dread Grimoire or something like that). I realized shortly after that that I couldn't train it o its fullest. That means that out of its pedigree of 60 I can only get probably in the 20s. So this basically sets you up for failure. What kind of system says, "here's the max, too bad you can never reach it."

I don't normally complain about anything W101 does because I understand that they try their best to make the game fun for everyone, but this aspect of the game is plain stupid.

Please tell me if I am understanding this wrong because I hope I am.

Survivor
Mar 31, 2012
Orpheus7 wrote:
Now I'm pretty new to hatching pets so I could be wrong about everything written here. I did a little research and found that you can only unlock 4/10 pet abilities. What's more, which ones you unlock are completely random. Am I the only one who finds this rediculous?