Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

new wizard question/help

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Jun 06, 2010
I am new to the game and was wondering if there is any tips u can provide about how to setup my spell deck. I am a fire wizard if that matter. Is it better to have your deck full or limit to just the spells you will use?

Also is it better to have a mixed deck of all schools spells or focus more on fire spells?

Thanks

Adherent
May 20, 2010
The more spells you have in the deck, the less likely it is that you will find the one you want. Spells that you seldom use will just clutter your deck.

What you put in the deck depends on what you're fighting. There's no one-deck-fits-all ideal makeup. Generally, you want the deck to be lean, with just a little more than is needed to defeat what you're facing.

Defender
Jun 08, 2011
If you are just starting out, the various novice wands that give 1 card of each of 6 different rank 1 spells are a great help.

If you aren't level 10 yet, and thus cannot get power pips, mixing schools has no disadvantages for you that I can think of. Having multiple schools in your deck only starts to be a concern once power pips are in play, and you need to worry about whether to use them for your higher level fire spells or for lower level spells from your secondary school or treasure cards.