Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Profanity vs Reporting

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Aug 05, 2009
Hello. I started playing this game almost 2 1/2 years ago because my 5 year old son saw the commercials on Catroon Network and wanted to play it. I downloaded the game and play-tested it to make sure it was easy enough to understand that he could do it, and child-safe enough that I'd be comfortable. I loved it and ended up being as much a player as he was (then evolved into playing more lol). I have been a gamer for over 20 years, table-top role-playing, PC and console,... I was impressed with the fun of play and the open/text/menu chat strategies sealed the deal. I was sold.

My son, 7 now, is a better reader and knows some of the "bad" words that he is not supposed to say. He doesn't use those words, and his account is still set on menu chat so he can't see what people type anyway. I, however, have open chat and play several of my 11 wizards with numerous friends and conversations and such.

Here's my issue... I have noticed a growing frequency of players using foul language and profanity by hiding it in caps lock, or using close-sounding words to bypass the limits. My son often watches me play and has picked up on a LOT of these phrases and comments. I hate having to make excuses and reasons for players who "say bad words" and do things that are "mean and rude". I often report players who I catch doing this and being obnixious. The other day I reported someone who made another snide comment and stated they had already been reported several times that same day already.