Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Chat System Suggestion

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Aug 02, 2010
ugh I had this whole thing typed out and lost my connection so I'm going to see if I remember everything again.

First off I have to say that I love this game. I started playing a few days ago and upgraded to a paid subscription last night (and even bought some crowns too) because of how much I liked what I saw during the trial period. The game is a cross between Yu-Gi-Oh! and Harry Potter which is a very unique combo. It reminded me a little bit of what I saw when my nieces would play Toon Town but it wasn't focused to the well under 18 crowd like that was. The thing that reminded me the most of Toon Town was the chat system. You have the simplistic preform phrases that everyone can use and read that is good enough communication for the most part for all players. Then you have the full chat system available to paid members. I like that because you're able to (mostly) communicate more freely with other paying members so your thoughts are crystal clear instead of robotic and "mostly-correct".

There was something that kinda irritated me about the chatting system though...well two things. First thing was that eventhough paying players are allowed to freely type what they want (within the approved words) the non-paying members only see "..." when a paying member doesn't use the preform phrases. If a non-paying member asks if someone wants to do say a dungeon or quest together and a paying member replys back without using the preform phrases all the non-paying member will see is "..." even if the paying member typed out "yes".