Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Good Animations Gone Bad

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Dec 13, 2008
It is always unfortunate when a new Wizard101 game updated is released with new bugs, but there's another intentional issue that doesn't make sense: changing previously good animations into unsightly, aesthetically displeasing ones. The very essence of an 3D MMORPG world is obviously the appearance, and a bad appearance has a seriously negative effect on the overall appreciation for the game. I've been playing Wizard101 since December of 2008 and have leveled to Grandmaster one character of each school of magic (Ice after deleting Life), so I've been through a lot of the changes. With new updates there are generally good fixes, but occasionally there is an unnecessary or unpleasant change that occurs, other than bugs.

For example, Minotaur used to look GREAT. It was my friend's favorite spell, and he joined around the same time as me. A while back, KingsIsle added odd green coloring (grass, I'm assuming) to the floor of the animation, and many of my friends and I were disgusted. Rebirth received the same treatment. Now the fizzle animation has been changed and it looks horrible. When I first saw it, I glanced at ugly fake dirt...Why? It used to look fine...definitely better than it does now, and for something that happens SO often, it's an extremely unpleasant sight.