Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Player movement system --- game response slow

AuthorMessage
Adherent
May 20, 2010
I'm relatively new to Wizard101, but I've played many other MMORPG's. I like everything in this game except the movement system.

The movement system (I use the directional arrows) is clumsy. Press the left/right arrows slightly, and the player turns too far in the intended direction, not far enough, or not at all.

Also, the game has gotten really slow to respond since the pet update (I haven't used a pet so far). Menus open very slowly, and there's a noticeable delay after clicking keys (i.e. choosing a spell, playing a game) before the screen updates. It wasn't nearly as bad before.

When the game is running, other things on my machine seem to slow down, as well.

Are these things normal (e.g. is it the game and game servers), or does it have something to do with my machine? If it's on my end, what in-game (e.g. video) settings should I turn off in order to make things work better?

My specs are: Athlon 2200 (single core) processor, 2 GB ram, GeForce 5500 (256 mb ram, yeah I know that's low-end) video card, ZoneAlarm, and a Linksys router (connection isn't an issue).

Thanks in advance for any help.

Geographer
Jun 09, 2009
Well, no one else is complaining of this... so it must be you then?

But, for the arrows, if you must turn slightly hold the right mouse button and turn or tap the arrows.

A+ Student
Jan 05, 2009
My guess is that your computer is still downloading some files and it causes things to slow. Once they are loaded, it should be fine.